The North of England Institute of Mining and Mechanical Engineers or as it is more commonly known, “The Mining Institute” is one of the finest buildings in Newcastle. It is a Victorian building built at the time when high-Gothic architecture was coming into fashion.
An ornate, Edwardian Shopping Arcade, in the centre of Newcastle built in 1906. The arcade is set within Richard Grainger's Central Exchange Building.
The last remaining hut built to accomodate the workers who constructed the Catcleugh Reservoir.
A 19th Century, Grade II listed, Lifeboat Station situated on the beautiful horseshoe bay at Cullercoats.
The smallest museum in Northumberland (if not the world!!) with pictures, memorabilia and trinkets about boating life in Alnmouth.
A castelled octagonal building in Seaton Sluice that was once a tax office, harbour master house and now a gallery.
A research and teaching laboratory which formed part of the School of Marine Science and Technology at Newcastle University. It is now part of the larger School of Natural and Environmental Sciences.
A tunnel running from the Town Moor to the Ouseburn that was used to transport coal and then became an air raid shelter.
Water Mill on the edge of Blaydon, originally built in 1730.
Old flour mill converted into a contemporary art gallery in 2002.
An independent Library, the largest outside of London, in the centre of Newcastle established in 1793, opened in 1825 and home of Newcastle Literary and Philosophical Society.
Remains of the 14th century walls that were built around Newcastle Upon Tyne.
Birthplace of mechanical engineer George Stephenson, built around 1760.
A beautiful little barn used to collect tithes in the middle ages.
Disused steel furnace and woodland walk, managed by English Heritage.
18th century gateway to Craster Tower, now an iconic entrance to the village of Craster.
A ruined shepherd's hut in the moors near Old Bewick set amongst crags and cairns.
A museum dedicated to the Volunteer Life Brigade at Tynemouth.
A ruined stable block of the once Creswell Hall.
A purpose built library, which opened in 1926 with funding from the Carnegie Trust.
The building used to house the rocket apparatus for saving crews from stranded ships near Blyth harbour.
The birthplace of Thomas Bewick, the famous wood engraver and ornithologist.
A medieval first-floor style Manor House set in the beautiful Derwent Walk Country Park.
A restored 19th century mining museum in the centre of the North Pennines Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, where you can experience the life and work of the lead mining families of the North Pennines.
Manor house associated with the family of George Washington, first president of the USA.
A small stone building used to store the explosives during the construction of the seahouses pier and harbour.
A reconstruction of a gatehouse and buildings on the original foundations of the Roman buildings.
A spectacular mausoleum for the British soldier Thomas Monteath Douglas.
A Grecian style summerhouse on the banks of the River Wear named after a Polish entertainer.
A former courthouse, and gateway to a gaol, now a restaurant and apartments.
A beautiful folly set in the grounds of the Gibside estate which is now a holiday home.
A pair of tunnels under the River Tyne for use by pedestrians and cyclists.
The remains of a 19th century engine house, later transformed into flats and known as 'Shildon Castle'.
Maybe a windmill, maybe used for sea-navigation, maybe just a pretty building. Now a holiday home.
A ruined watermill dating from back to 1739 in Jesmond Dene.
The banqueting hall where Lord Armstrong would entertain his guests.
Also known as All Saints Chantry, it’s a Grade I listed building now housing a bagpipe museum.
The deer house is a rare and well preserved example of Gothic Revival architecture built in 1760.
A beautiful set of beach huts situated on the Blyth Promenade.
A memorial in the style of an ancient Greek temple on Penshaw Hill owned by the National Trust.